Stories to Read Right Now

Turn the White Snow: A “White Winter Hymnal” Story

As this is still my most popular post (that even garnered some fanfiction!) and it’s holiday time again, I thought I’d reshare my short story interpretation of White Winter Hymnal. Enjoy 🙂

Amy L Sauder

Like many this year, I was introduced to the Pentatonix version of “White Winter Hymnal.” I fell in love with the song and wondered about the story behind it.

What had happened to Michael? Why was everyone wearing red scarves? After much googling around, I found out the original version was by Fleet Foxes, and was excited to know it hadn’t come from an already-existing story….I decided to create my own 🙂 Enjoy and Merry Christmas!

Turn the White Snow

I was following Michael to the schoolyard, sludging through the snow. Little Mary trailed behind when she fell on a patch of ice. It wasn’t too big of a spill, ‘cept her red scarf shuffled to the side and she gasped, froze. “Mary,” I teased, “keep careful or you’ll lose your head.” I knotted the scarf ‘round her neck one more time to calm her. She beamed up at me…

View original post 1,186 more words

Leave a Reply

